Welcome to the St. Jude Syro-Malabar Parish’s Liturgical Ministry.

St. Jude Syro Malabar parish’s Liturgical Ministry in Winnipeg came to inception on Sep 15th 2016, with the establishment of new Syro-Malabar Mission in Winnipeg.

St. Jude Syro-Malabar Parish follows the East Syrian Rite liturgy, traditionally attributed to saints Addai and Mari, which dates back to 3rd century Edessa, and like the Chaldean Rite is a Syro-Oriental Rite. The ministry has evolved greatly in God’s abundant grace, since its inception. Today Ministry provides the St Jude parish, all necessary guidance and support with regards to mass celebrations, observing liturgical seasons and parish member participation in liturgical rites and prayer services.


Following the Syro-Malabar Catholic Rite, liturgy ministry follows the Syro-Malabar liturgical Calendar. The liturgical year begins on the Sunday that comes between November 27 and December 3. The liturgical year is divided into 9 liturgical seasons. The seasons are based on the central events of salvation history, with special focus on the historical life of Jesus and the historical existence of the Church. It begins with Annunciation of the birth of the Lord Saviour Jesus Christ and ends with his second coming and eschatological fulfillment and the heavenly kingdom.


Based on catholic traditions the Holy Mass, which is called Holy Qurbana in East Syriac Aramaic and means 'Eucharist', is celebrated in its solemn form on Sundays and certain liturgical feasts/celebrations. During the celebration of the Qurbana, priests and deacons put on elaborate vestments which are unique to the Syro-Malabar Catholic Church.


Following the East Syriac tradition, liturgical day of the Syro-Malabar Church begins at sunset and the rites require the worshiper to face the east direction while worshiping and offering prayers.


Liturgical Seasons - 2017
Annunciation (Agmanam) 27th  Nov
Epiphany (Denha) 8th  Jan
Great Fast (nombu) 26th  Feb
Resurrection (uyirppu) 1st  April
Apostles (Sliha) 20th  May
Summer (Qaita) 8th  July
Elijah-Cross (Elijah-Sliba) 26th  Aug
Moses (Muse) 14th  Oct
Dedication of the Church (pallikuddasa) 5th  Nov

Click here for Parish Calender



Note: Facts and Data Source on Syro-Malabar Rites are referenced from Syro-Malabar Eparchial Centers and Syro-Malabar Catechetical Commission